Breaking News

List of Chief Justices of India


List of Chief Justices of India

S. NoNamePeriod of OfficeBar
 HJ Kania26 January 1950-6 November 1951Bombay High Court
 Patanjali Sastri. M7 November 1951- 3 January 1954Madras High Court
 Mehr Chand Mahajan4 January 1954- 22 December 1954Punjab and Haryana High Court
 Bijan Kumar Mukerjea23 December 1954- 31 January 1956Calcutta High Court
 Sudhi Ranjan Das1 February 1956- 30 September 1959Calcutta High Court
 Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha1 October 1959- 31 January 1964Patna High Court
 PB Gajendragadkar1 February 1964- 15 March  1966Bombay High Court
 Amal Kumar Sarkar16 March 1966- 29 June 1966Calcutta High Court
 Koka Subba Rao30 June 1966- 11 April 1967Madras High Court
 Kailas Nath Wanchoo12 April 1967- 24 February 1968Allahabad High Court
 Mohammed Hidyatullah25 February 1968- 16 December 1970Bombay High Court
 Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah17 December 1970- 21 January 1971Bombay High Court
 Sarv Mittra Sikri22 January 1971- 25 April 1973Lahore High Court
 AN Ray26 April 1973- 27 January 1977Calcutta High Court
 Mirza Hameedullah Beg29 January 1977- 21 February 1978Allahabad High Court
 YV Chandrachud22 February 1978- 11 July 1985Bombay High Court
 PN Bhagwati12 July 1985- 20 December 1986Gujarat High Court
 Raghunandan Swarup Pathak21 December 1986- 18 June 1989Allahabad High Court
 Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah19 June 1989- 17 December 1989Karnataka High Court
 Sabyasachi Mukharji18 December 1989- 25 September 1990Calcutta High Court
 Ranganath Misra26 September 1990- 24 November 1991Orissa High Court
 Kamal Narain Singh25 November 1991- 12 December 1991Allahabad High Court
 Madhukar Hiralal Kania13 December 1991- 17 November 1992Bombay High Court
 Lalit Mohan Sharma18 November 1992- 11 February 1993Patna High Court
 MN Venkatachaliah12 February 1993- 24 October 1994Karnataka High Court
 Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi25 October 1994- 24 March 1997Gujarat High Court
 JS Verma25 March 1997- 17 January 1998Madhya Pradesh High Court
 Madan Mohan Punchhi18 January 1998- 9 October 1998Punjab and Haryana High Court
 Adarsh Sein Anand10 October 1998- 31 October 2001Jammu and Kashmir High Court
 Sam Piroj Bharucha1 November 2001- 5 May 2002Bombay High Court
 Bhupinder Nath Kirpal6 May 2002- 7 November 2002Delhi High Court
 Gopal Ballav Pattanaik8 November 2002- 18 December 2002Orissa High Court
 VN Khare19 December 2002- 1 May 2004Allahabad High Court
 S Rajendra Babu2 May 2004- 31 May 2004Karnataka High Court
 Ramesh Chandra Lahoti1 June 2004- 31 October 2005Madhya Pradesh High Court
 Yogesh Kumar Sabharwal1 November 2005- 13 January 2007Delhi High Court
 KG Balakrishnan14 January 2007- 12 May 2010Kerala High Court
 SH Kapadia12 May 2010- 28 September 2012Bombay High Court
 Altamas Kabir29 September 2012- 18 July 2013Calcutta High Court
 P Sathasivam19 July 2013- 26 April 2014Madras High Court
 Rajendra Mal Lodha27 April 2014- 27 September 2014Rajasthan High Court
 HL Dattu28 September 2014- 2 December 2015Karnataka High Court
 TS Thakur3 December 2015- 3 January 2017Jammu and Kashmir High Court
 Jagdish Singh Khehar4 January 2017- 27 August 2017Punjab and Haryana High Court
 Dipak Misra28 August 2017- 2 October 2018Orissa High Court
 Ranjan Gogoi3 October 2018- 17 November 2019Gauhati High Court
 Sharad Arvind Bobde18 November 2019- CurrentBombay High Court

Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania was the first Indian Chief Justice of India. But overall the first Chief Justice of India was Mr. Sir Maurice Gwyer (1 October 1937 to 25 April 1943). The Federal Court of India came into existence on 1 October 1937. Federal Court of India function between 1937–50.

Justice Y. V. Chandrachud is the longest serving Chief Justice (February 1978 – July 1985), who served 2696 days while Kamal Narain Singh is the shortest serving (21 November 1991 – 12 December 1991), just 17 days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *