Five-member committee chaired by NLUD Vice-Chancellor constituted to recommend Criminal Law Reforms in India:


Vide its Notification 1-2-19 Judicial Cell dated 04-5-2020, Union Ministry of Home Affairs, (MHA)Government of India constituted a Committee to recommend criminal reforms in India.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

1. Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh (Chairperson), Vice Chancellor, National Law University Delhi

2. Prof. (Dr.) G. S. Bajpai (Member & Convenor), Registrar, National Law University Delhi

3. Prof. (Dr.) Mrinal Satish (Member), Professor, National Law University Delhi

4. Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani (Member), Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

5. Mr. G. P. Thareja (Member), Former District & Session Judge, Delhi.

The Committee pursue to recommend reforms in the criminal laws of the country in a principled, effective, and efficient manner that ensures the safety and security of the every individual, the community and the nation; and which prioritizes the constitutional values of justice, dignity, worth of the every individual.

Towards this end the Committee shall also undertake country-wide consultations with law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, judiciary, advocates, academics, and civil society including media organizations the release reads.

The Committee will be assisted by a set of researchers and consultants.

By Muskan Chauhan of LCD

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *